Description of Department/Service

The Laboratory Medicine Department is the Pathology Diagnostic Department for all clinical activity in the hospital and in addition, provides services to the community of general practitioners supported by the Hospital, and to other Health Care Institutions. It is a tertiary referral centre for a number of specialities, both at regional and national level.

The Laboratory Medicine Department is divided into five specialties:Clinical Chemistry, Haematology, Microbiology, Blood Transfusion and Cellular Pathology. Each discipline provides a Consultant-led service on a seven day/ 24 hour basis throughout the year. Services provided include testing and analysis of samples, interpretation of results and technical advice, intended to meet the needs and requirements of users and patients.

All five specialties have ISO 15189 accreditation (INAB reference 330MT) through the Irish National Accreditation Board with a defined scope available through the INAB website

The Departmental Quality Policy details our commitment to the primacy of the patient and pursuit of excellence. A copy of the policy is available here.

Click here to download the GP Stock Order Form. (Please save to your computer before completing)