TUH Announces Winners of its 2023 Non Consultant Hospital Doctor Awards

NCHD Awards 2023(June 30th 2023) Tallaght University Hospital (TUH) has just announced the winners of its Non Consultant Hospital Doctor (NCHD) Awards for 2023. These awards were organised by the TUH Medical Board to recognise the contribution that NCHDs make to the Hospital. This year over 250 submissions were received.

The three awards recognise exceptional contributions by an Intern, Senior House Officer and Registrar.

The winners are as follows;

Intern of the Year, Dr Liam Coughlan, a native of Malahide. One of Dr Coughlan’s colleagues said, “Liam is dedicated, eager to learn and brings a vibrant energy to the Department. He is a very hard-working intern who is an asset to whatever team he is on.”

Senior House Officer, Dr Niall Gallagher, a native of Belfast. Speaking about Dr Gallagher a close teammate remarked, “Niall is reliable and will go the extra mile to see patients that others need help with. He is hardworking and will rise to any occasion no matter how challenging.”

Registrar of the Year, Dr Laura Piggott, a native of Gort, Co. Galway. As they nominated Dr Piggott a co-worker said, “Laura is a credit to both the Hospital and to a very busy department. She gives compassionate care that goes above and beyond. She is both good humoured, supportive and hardworking, a big team player with a passion for patient flow. She is always trying to keep things moving in a caring and conscientious way.”

The Chair of the Hospital’s Medical Board Professor Tara Coughlan, Consultant Geriatrician said, “These awards afford us the opportunity to recognise the excellence of our doctors and express our appreciation. As well as congratulating this year’s winners, I would like to thank all of our doctors for their dedication and hard work over the past year and wish them all success in their future careers.”